Australian High Commission

Malaysians continue to shine in Australian Endeavour Scholarship Awards

Malaysians continue to shine in Australian Endeavour Scholarship Awards

A record 21 outstanding Malaysian scholars and professionals will receive an Australian Endeavour Award this year. The Awards, worth a total of more than RM7 million, will enable the winners to pursue study and professional development opportunities in Australia this year. This marks the highest number of Malaysian recipients since the awards were established in 2007.

The Endeavour Awards is a highly competitive, merit-based award program offered only to the most outstanding applicants. It is a program that brings high achieving students, researchers and professionals from around the world to Australia for study, research and professional development in a broad range of disciplines. Australians are also able to study abroad under the program.

Mr Miles Kupa, Australia’s High Commissioner to Malaysia, said that “the strong result by Malaysians this year in the Endeavour Awards program is recognition by Australia of the quality of the academic talent in Malaysia. I am especially delighted that three Malaysians – all women – received the highest award, the Prime Minister’s Australia Asia Award. Only 20 are awarded worldwide.”

The award recipients will undertake study in fields as diverse as community health, veterinary parasites and public policy. The 21 scholars, who come from all over Malaysia, will receive full financial support during their stay in Australia. They will stay in Australia for between six weeks and four years, before returning to Malaysia, which is one of the conditions of the award.

Mr Kupa said “I am particularly pleased to further strengthen the Government-to-Government links between Australia and Malaysia with the award to Mr Ting Kok Onn. Mr Ting will undertake an executive award with the Australian Treasury this year and be at the heart of Australian public policy making before returning to his position at the Economic Planning Unit in the Prime Ministers’ Department.”